What's new
British Ordnance Collectors Network

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

18 Pdr Mk.II Identification

Tim M H

DSC00233.jpgDSC00243.JPGI'm a newbie here, so please forgive any errors or incorrect terminology.....
I've just acquired this carbide lamp on Ebay, made from two cartridge cases. The lower one is an 18-pounder Mk.II. Hopefully the photo will show the markings clearly - I've deciphered some but others fox me completely, so any assistance will be most welcome, particularly on the maker and filling station.

They are:
12:00 - 18PR II
6:00 - 1917 plus circle WD
9:00 - B.A. D.C.P.C plus circle 'H'
3:00 - 19 9 17 355 S plus CF inverted and angled so that it could read 'CF6' with the middle '9'

Thanks to Tony E for information already received concerning 'CF' & circle 'H' markings
Might the 'S' mean scleroscope inspected, and how does that work?

The upper case has no markings, presumably lost during conversion. All I can say is that it's 80mm in diameter - it has been suggested that this is a German 77x230 case from the size and the crimping rings - anybody have any thoughts on that?